Encouraging Organic, Vibrant Discussions Online: Forums & Incentives

Screen Shot 2014-11-03 at 11.52.52 AM Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 3.55.02 PM

I love a lively class discussion, and most of my teaching depends on student-focused, student-initiated conversations to deepen the learning and to build the learning community.  When I transitioned to primarily teaching online, this was one of the biggest areas of difficulty for me.  I did not look forward to our class discussions in the discussion board, and only after years of experimenting, I’ve come up with some approaches that work better for me and for my students in the context of our online community-based learning work.

Examples of Discussions on a Blog 

Examples of Discussions on Voice Thread

Acclimating Students to Tools Outside of the Learning Management System & Providing Guidelines and Feedback

  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    